Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Ornette Coleman - Round Trip: Ornette Coleman On Blue Note 6LP Box Set (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Ornette Coleman

Iconoclastic saxophonist and composer Ornette Coleman shook the jazz world when he arrived at the Five Spot Café in New York City in 1959 and began his run of seminal albums on Atlantic that laid the foundation for the free jazz movement to come. After a period of disillusionment during which he withdrew from public music making, Coleman re-emerged on Blue Note in 1966 and began writing an intriguing new chapter of his legendary career.

The boxset Round Trip: Ornette Coleman On Blue Note presents all-analog 180g Tone Poet Vinyl Editions of all six albums featuring Coleman that were recorded for Blue Note Records, including his five albums as a leader—the two-volume At The ‘Golden Circle’ Stockholm (1965), The Empty Foxhole (1966), New York Is Now! (1968), and Love Call (1968)— as well as his lone sideman appearance on New And Old Gospel (1967) by fellow saxophonist Jackie McLean. The boxset includes a booklet featuring rare photos and an enlightening essay by critic Thomas Conrad.


Blue Note Tone Poet Series

The Blue Note Tone Poet Series was born out of Blue Note President Don Was’ admiration for the exceptional audiophile Blue Note LP reissues presented by Music Matters. Was brought Joe Harley (from Music Matters), a.k.a. the “Tone Poet,” on board to curate and supervise a series of reissues from the Blue Note family of labels.

Extreme attention to detail has been paid to getting these right in every conceivable way, from the jacket graphics and printing quality to superior LP mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray to superb 180 gm audiophile LP pressings by Record Technology Inc. Every aspect of these Blue Note/Tone Poet releases is done to the highest possible standard. It means that you will never find a superior version. This is IT.

Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).


LP 1

At the Golden Circle Stockholm Vol. 1

Live From The Golden Circle, Stockholm /1966

A1: Announcement / Faces And Places

A2: European Echoes

B1: Dee Dee

B2: Dawn

LP 2

At the Golden Circle Stockholm Vol. 2

Live From The Golden Circle, Stockholm / 1965

A1: Snowflakes And Sunshine

A2: Morning Song

B1: The Riddle

B2: Antiques

LP 3

The Empty Foxhole


A1: Good Old Days

A2: The Empty Foxhole

A3: Sound Gravitation

B1: Freeway Express

B2: Faithful

B3: Zig Zag

LP 4

New York Is Now!


A1: The Garden Of Souls

A2: Toy Dance

B1: We Now Interrupt For A Commercial

B2: Broad Way Blues

B3: Round Trip

LP 5

Love Call


A1: Airborne

A2: Love Call

B1: Open To The Public

B2: Check Out Time

LP 6

New And Old Gospel


A1: Lifeline

A. Offspring B. Midway C. Vernzone D. The Inevitable End

B1: Old Gospel

B2: Strange As It Seems

*This product is not eligible for any discounts