Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Modest Jazz Trio - Good Friday Blues LP (Tone Poet Vinyl Series)

Modest Jazz Trio

Recorded in the wee hours of Good Friday 1960, this charming and impromptu Pacific Jazz session captured the easygoing alchemy of The Modest Jazz Trio featuring Jim Hall on guitar, Red Mitchell on piano, and Red Kelly on bass. Good Friday Blues would be the trio’s sole album, a sublimely swinging date that did indeed begin with the modest expectations of capturing a single track for a blues anthology that Richard Bock was producing. But the vibe was right, the trio was inspired, the music flowed, and by morning they had laid down six tracks including a pair of originals by Mitchell and renditions of songbook standards including “Willow Weep For Me,” “I Remember You,” and “I Was Doin’ Alright.” The drum-less setting allows Hall’s gorgeous, subtle tone and melodic flow to shine while Mitchell—who was primarily known as a bassist—surprises with his impressive piano chops, and Kelly provides a sturdy base.

Blue Note Tone Poet Series

The Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series was born out of Blue Note President Don Was’ admiration for the exceptional audiophile Blue Note LP reissues presented by Music Matters. Was brought Joe Harley, a.k.a. the “Tone Poet,” on board to curate and supervise a series of reissues from the Blue Note family of labels.

Extreme attention to detail has been paid to getting these right in every conceivable way, from the jacket graphics and printing quality to superior LP mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray to superb 180g audiophile LP pressings by Record Technology Inc. Every aspect of these Tone Poet releases is done to the highest possible standard. It means that you will never find a superior version. This is IT. 

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket. 


A1: Good Friday Blues
A2: Willow Weep For Me
A3: I Remember You 

B1: Bill Not Phil
B2: When I Have You
B3: I Was Doin' Alright