Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Marcus Strickland - People of the Sun

On his thrilling new LP, People of the Sun, saxophonist Marcus Strickland blazes a trail fully at the helm of his music—performing, writing, and producing with his Twi-Life band on deck and special guests including Bilal and Pharoahe Monch along for the ride—as he sonically and socially traces the African diaspora from present to past in an effort to unpack his identity. It’s an album that's busy and beautiful, inventive and contemplative, an amalgam of influences from West Africa (griot culture, Afrobeat, percussion) and America (post-bop, funk-soul, beat music) performed in the key of revelation.


  1. Lullaby (feat. Weedie Braimah)
  2. Timing
  3. People Of The Sun (feat. Mitch Henry)
  4. On My Mind (feat. Bilal, Pharoahe Monch + Greg Tate)
  5. Relentlessness
  6. Marvelous (feat. Akie Bermiss)
  7. Black Love
  8. Build
  9. Cloaked In Controversy
  10. Aim High (Feat. Jermaine Holmes)
  11. Spirit Of The Music

Please note: digital downloads are not available to customers outside of the United States.