Shopping Cart

Black Fire LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Regular price $34.98

This is on pre-order and is expected to ship on or around July 26th.

Andrew Hill’s Black Fire is both the pianist and composer’s debut and an acknowledged masterpiece of modern post-bop jazz. Featuring a sublime quartet with Joe Henderson on tenor saxophone, Richard Davis on bass, and Roy Haynes on drums, the music still sounds as fresh today as it did the day it was recorded in November 1963, the start of an astounding creative streak that also produced Hill’s great albums Smokestack, Judgment!, and Point of Departure during a period of just 4 months. Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).


1. Pumpkin (Side A)
2. Subterfuge (Side A)
3. Black Fire (Side A)
4. Cantardos (Side B)
5. Tired Trade (Side B)
6. McNeil Island (Side B)
7. Land Of Nod (Side B)