Shopping Cart

Marcus Strickland - "People of the Sun"

Regular price $9.98

Vinyl purchases are expected to ship around November 30.

Track listing:
01. Lullaby (feat. Weedie Braimah)
02. Timing
03. People Of The Sun (feat. Mitch Henry)
04. On My Mind (feat. Bilal, Pharoahe Monch + Greg Tate)
05. Relentlessness
06. Marvelous (feat. Akie Bermiss)
07. Black Love
08. Build
09. Cloaked In Controversy
10. Aim High (Feat. Jermaine Holmes)
11. Spirt Of The Music

On his thrilling new LP, People of the Sun, saxophonist Marcus Strickland blazes a trail fully at the helm of his music—performing, writing, and producing with his Twi-Life band on deck and special guests including Bilal and Pharoahe Monch along for the ride—as he sonically and socially traces the African diaspora from present to past in an effort to unpack his identity. It’s an album that's busy and beautiful, inventive and contemplative, an amalgam of influences from West Africa (griot culture, Afrobeat, percussion) and America (post-bop, funk-soul, beat music) performed in the key of revelation.

Please note: digital downloads are not available to customers outside of the United States.