Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Robert Glasper - In My Element 2LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series)

The release of pianist Robert Glasper’s acclaimed Blue Note debut Canvas in 2005 signaled the arrival of a singular new voice in jazz, and his 2007 follow-up In My Element delivered on that promise by solidifying Glasper’s status as a rising star who was taking the music someplace new. Featuring his acoustic trio with bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Damion Reid, the album showcased the group’s intuitive interplay and expanded the musical possibilities of where a modern jazz piano trio might go by delving even further into his hip-hop and gospel roots. In My Element also reinforced Glasper’s budding reputation as a distinctive composer whose unique harmonic imprint and affecting melodies are apparent on the album’s seven original tunes including the brightly swinging opener “G&B,” the mesmerizing “Of Dreams to Come,” the gospel influenced “Y’outta Praise Him,” and “One for ‘Grew,” a dedication to his mentor Mulgrew Miller. The album’s covers also showed the diversity of Glasper’s influences including “Beatrice” by saxophonist Sam Rivers, a mash-up of “Maiden Voyage/Everything In Its Right Place” which laid Herbie Hancock’s melody over Radiohead chords, and “J Dillalude,” a medley of beats by the late great hip-hop producer J Dilla played “trio style” at Q-Tip’s suggestion.

The album gets its first-ever vinyl release with this Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

A1: g & b
A2: of dreams to come

B1: f. t. b.
B2: y’outta praise him (intro)
B3: y’outta praise him

C1: beatrice
C2: maiden voyage/everything in its right place
C3: j dillalude

D1: silly rabbit
D2: one for ’grew
D3: tribute