Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Lonnie Smith - Live at Club Mozambique 2LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition)

Recorded in May 1970, this smoldering set of funky soul-jazz by the great organist Lonnie Smith went unreleased until 1995. Captured live at Club Mozambique in Detroit just 5 months after Smith recorded his excellent Blue Note album Drives, this live date featured a similar line-up with tenor saxophonist Dave Hubbard, baritone saxophonist Ronnie Cuber, and drummer Joe Dukes, with the notable difference being the presence of guitarist George Benson here. On this 2LP set the band stretches out on 6 Smith originals including “I Can’t Stand It” & “Play It Back” along with covers of the Sly Stone song “I Want To Thank You” & Miles Davis’ “Seven Steps to Heaven.”

This Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


A1: I Can't Stand It
A2: Expression

B1: Scream
B2: Play It Back

C1: Love Bowl
C2: Peace Of Mind

D1: I Want To Thank You
D2: Seven Steps To Heaven