Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Dave McMurray – Music is Life

Genre: Jazz
  1. Naked Walk
  2. Music is Life (Live it)
  3. Seven Nation Army
  4. After The Storm
  5. Freedom Ain’t Free
  6. Time #5
  7. Atomic Dog
  8. Paris Rain
  9. Que Je T’aime
  10. Bop City D
  11. Turo’s Dream
On Dave McMurray’s Blue Note-debut, Music is Life, the Detroit native delivers a cohesive program of modern jazz that bristles with unalloyed soul. Joined by longtime collaborators Ibrahim Jones (bass), Ron Otis and Jeff Canady (drums), Music Is Life consists of 7 originals along with covers of songs by fellow Detroiters – George Clinton’s funk anthem “Atomic Dog” and the White Stripes’ rock hit “Seven Nation Army.” McMurray’s cemented his reputation for versatility by playing with a vast array of musicians including B.B. King, The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Gladys Knight, Herbie Hancock and more.

Please note: digital downloads are not available to customers outside of the United States.