Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Bobby Hutcherson - Medina LP (Tone Poet Vinyl Series)

Bobby Hutcherson

The late-1960s and early-1970s were a wildly creative period for Bobby Hutcherson  with the vibraphonist freely exploring a wide range of stylistic possibilities from post-bop and the avant-garde to fusion and Latin Jazz. The cutting-edge 1969 session Medina—which wouldn’t be first released until 1980 as part of the LT Series—documented one of Hutcherson’s most remarkable band line-ups featuring two of his frequent collaborators—Harold Land on tenor saxophone and flute and Joe Chambers on drums—along with Stanley Cowell on piano and Reggie Johnson on bass. The set presented a pair of original compositions each by Hutcherson, Cowell, and Chambers that explored a variety of moods from the churning rhythms of “Avis” and “Medina” to the more atmospheric realms of “Comes Spring” and “Orientale.”

Blue Note Tone Poet Series

The Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series was born out of Blue Note President Don Was’ admiration for the exceptional audiophile Blue Note LP reissues presented by Music Matters. Was brought Joe Harley, a.k.a. the “Tone Poet,” on board to curate and supervise a series of reissues from the Blue Note family of labels.

Extreme attention to detail has been paid to getting these right in every conceivable way, from the jacket graphics and printing quality to superior LP mastering (direct from the master tapes) by Kevin Gray to superb 180g audiophile LP pressings by Record Technology Inc. Every aspect of these Tone Poet releases is done to the highest possible standard. It means that you will never find a superior version. This is IT.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.


A1: Avis
A2: Comes Spring
A3: Dave's Chant
A4: Orientale

B1: Medina
B2: Ungano