Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Sonny Rollins - A Night At The Village Vanguard: The Complete Masters (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Sonny Rollins

The Saxophone Colossus Sonny Rollins had already recorded three Blue Note studio dates for Alfred LionSonny Rollins, Sonny Rollins, Vol. 2, and Newk’s Time—by the time he walked down the stairs of the Village Vanguard on November 3, 1957 to record his first-ever live album, as well as the first-ever live album to be recorded at the iconic New York City jazz club: A Night at the Village Vanguard. Rollins’ tour-de-force live trio album was predominantly captured at the evening set featuring Wilbur Ware on bass and Elvin Jones on drums with two pieces coming from the afternoon set featuring Donald Bailey on bass and Pete La Roca on drums.

This expanded 3-LP Tone Poet Vinyl Edition of A Night at the Village Vanguard: The Complete Masters marks the first time Rollins’ complete recorded performances from the Vanguard are available in a single vinyl package. Produced for release by Joe Harley, the vinyl is all-analog and cut directly from Rudy Van Gelder’s never-before-used original 7.5ips master tapes by Kevin Gray. Pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, the three LPs come packaged in a deluxe tip-on trifold jacket which includes a booklet with never-before-seen photos by Francis Wolff; insightful essays by esteemed critics Nate Chinen and Bob Blumenthal; an excerpt from Aidan Levy’s authoritative Rollins biography Saxophone Colossus which provides a riveting behind-the-scenes account of the volatile circumstances surrounding the recording; and a fascinating new interview with Rollins himself reflecting upon the album in conversation with Blue Note President Don Was.


A1: Introduction
A2: Old Devil Moon
A3: Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
A4: Striver’s Row

B1: Sonnymoon For Two
B2: A Night In Tunisia
B3: I Can’t Get Started

C1: A Night In Tunisia (Evening Take)
C2: I’ve Got You Under My Skin

D1: Softly As In A Morning Sunrise (Alternate Take)
D2: What Is This Thing Called Love

E1: All The Things You Are
E2: Introduction
E3: Woody ‘N You
E4: Four

F1: I’ll Remember April
F2: Get Happy
F3: Get Happy (Short Version)