Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Charles Lloyd - The Sky Will Still Be There Tomorrow

Charles Lloyd

Your digital album will be delivered via email upon purchase.  

Standard digital downloads are delivered as MP3 44.1KHZ/24-BIT audio files. 

Please note, digital downloads are only available in the U.S.

The purchase of physical music does not include a digital download.

Unsettled by the state of the world in 2020, Charles Lloyd began conceiving of a musical offering in the form of a new studio recording featuring a new band, a quartet that would be a first-time convening of four distinctive voices with the legendary saxophonist joined by pianist Jason Moran, bassist Larry Grenadier, and drummer Brian Blade. In Spring 2023, around Lloyd’s 85th birthday, the project at long last flowered with the creation of an expansive double album titled The Sky Will Still Be There Tomorrow. A majestic body of work that finds one of the most significant musicians of the 20th and 21st centuries still at the peak of his powers, the album presents a collection of Lloyd originals new, old, and reimagined.


1. Defiant, Tender Warrior
2. The Lonely One
3. Monk’s Dance
4. The Water Is Rising
5. Late Bloom
6. Booker’s Garden
7. The Ghost of Lady Day
8. The Sky Will Still Be There Tomorrow
9. Beyond Darkness
10. Sky Valley, Spirit of the Forest
11. Balm In Gilead
12. Lift Every Voice and Sing
13. When the Sun Comes Up, Darkness Is Gone
14. Cape to Cairo
15. Defiant, Reprise; Homeward Dove