Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Bill Frisell - Orchestras

Your digital album will be delivered via email upon purchase.  

Standard digital downloads are delivered as MP3 44.1KHZ/24-BIT audio files. 

Please note, digital downloads are only available in the U.S.

The purchase of physical music does not include a digital download.

Guitarist Bill Frisell’s new double LP Orchestras documents two inspired concert-hall engagements arranged by Michael Gibbs for Frisell’s long-standing trio with bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer Rudy Royston: one featuring the nearly 60-piece Brussels Philharmonic, conducted by Alexander Hanson; and one with the 11-piece Umbria Jazz Orchestra, under the musical direction of Manuele Morbidini. But as with so much of Frisell’s music over the past four decades, a relatively straightforward concept and a familiar songbook yield quietly stirring revelations. The music showcases a level of comfort and interactivity that far transcends the vast majority of “with strings” projects on the jazz record shelf. Sweeping orchestration evoking landmark film scores and Gil Evans alike move nimbly within and around the trio’s telepathic rapport, and Frisell’s shimmering trademark tone melds gorgeously with symphonic strings and brass. The 3-LP D2C exclusive vinyl version adds a 3rd disc of material that will not be available anywhere else.


Disc 1. With Brussels Philharmonic

1. Nocturne Vulgaire
2. Lush Life
3. Doom
4. Rag
5. Throughout
6. Electricity
7. Sweet Rain
8. Richter 858, No.7
9. Beautiful Dreamer

Disc 2. With Umbria Jazz Orchestra

1. Lookout for Hope
2. Levees
3. Strange Meeting
4. Doom
5. Electricity
6. Monica Jane
7. We Shall Overcome

Disc 3. With Brussels Philharmonic (D2C LP Only)

1. Be That as It May
2. Drum Solo
3. Moon River
4. Lotus Blossom
5. Monroe
6. A Flower is a Lovesome Thing
7. What the World Needs Now is Love