Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Aaron Parks - Invisible Cinema 2LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series)

Aaron Parks

Pianist and composer Aaron Parks made his first Blue Note appearances as a member of Terence Blanchard’s band, an outfit akin to The Jazz Messengers in its cultivation of future jazz greats. After appearing on the trumpeter’s albums Bounce, Flow, and A Tale of God’s Will through the early 2000s, Parks made his own Blue Note debut in 2008 with Invisible Cinema, a striking album that has only grown in its influence across the modern jazz landscape since its release. The band—a quartet featuring the pianist with Mike Moreno on guitar, Matt Penman on bass, and Eric Harland on drums—travelled across new sonic and rhythmic frontiers on this set of Parks’ evocative original compositions which were imbued with a cinematic drama and drew inspiration from the likes of Wayne Shorter, Radiohead, Bjork, Meshell Ndegeocello, and more. This first-time vinyl release includes two bonus tracks previously only available in Japan.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition was mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

A1:  Travelers 
A2: Peaceful Warrior 
A3: Nemesis 

B1: Riddle Me This 
B2:  Into The Labyrinth 
B3: Karma 
B4:  Roadside Distraction 

C1: Harvesting Dance 
C2: Praise 
C3: Afterglow 

D1: Memory Of A Flame 
D2: Travelers (Alternate Take)