Shopping Cart

Reuben Wilson - Blue Mode 1LP

Regular price $24.98

For his third Blue Note album Blue Mode (1969), organist Reuben Wilson kept it right in the pocket and laid down one of the funkiest soul jazz workouts of the late-60s. Produced by Francis Wolff, the date featured Wilson at the helm of an airtight quartet with tenor saxophonist John Manning, guitarist Melvin Sparks, and drummer Tommy Derrick. Highlights of the set include Wilson’s grooving originals “Bus Ride,” “Orange Peel,” and “Blue Mode,” along with covers of Eddie Floyd’s “Knock On Wood” and Edwin Starr’s “Twenty-Five Miles.”

This Blue Note 80 Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Disc One
1. Bambu (Side A)
2. Knock On Wood (Side A)
3. Bus Ride (Side A)
4. Orange Peel (Side B)
5. Twenty-Five Miles (Side B)
6. Blue Mode (Side B)