Shopping Cart
  • Miles Davis - The Complete Birth Of The Cool
  • Miles Davis - The Complete Birth Of The Cool

Blue Note Records

Miles Davis - The Complete Birth Of The Cool

Regular price $13.98

In honor of the 70th anniversary of its original singles in 1949, The Complete Birth of the Cool by Miles Davis is being released on 2LP. The record features Miles Davis’ classic Birth of the Cool as well as a second LP of live material from 1948, previously unreleased on vinyl. The package features a wrapped gatefold jacket with laminated coating, as well as a brand new retrospective essay by Ashley Kahn, the author of Kind of Blue: The Making of the Miles Davis Masterpiece. Legendary Jazz saxophonist Gerry Mulligan and Jazz historian Phil Schaap provide liner notes on the project, which were originally published in 1998. The first LP is mastered from analog tape of the original singles for the first time since the original Birth of the Cool release in 1957.


The Studio Sessions

1. Move 
2. Jeru 
3. Moon Dreams 
4. Venus De Milo 
5. Budo 
6. Deception 
7. Godchild
8. Boplicity 
9. Rocker  
10. Israel 
11. Rouge 
12. Darn That Dream 

The Live Sessions

1. Birth Of The Cool Theme
2. Symphony Sid Announces The Band 
3. Move  
4. Why Do I Love You 
5. Godchild (Side A) 
6. Symphony Sid Introduction
7. S'il Vous Plait  
8. Moon Dreams 
9. Budo (Hallucinations)
10. Darn That Dream 
11. Move 
12. Moon Dreams 
13. Budo (Hallucinations)

*Shipping timeline is for Vinyl only