Shopping Cart

Blue Note Records

Bobby Hutcherson - Components LP (Blue Note 75th Anniversary Reissue Series)

Bobby Hutcherson was one of the most influential figures in the sound of Blue Note records throughout the 1960s. The vibraphonist appeared on numerous Blue Note albums throughout the decade that spanned hard bop, soul jazz, post-bop, and the avant-garde. One album in particular that demonstrated Hutcherson’s remarkable stylistic versatility was his 1965 classic Components which featured an excellent sextet with Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, James Spaulding on alto saxophone and flute, Herbie Hancock on piano, Ron Carter on bass, and Joe Chambers on drums. Side One of the LP presented four Hutcherson pieces that were rooted in a more traditional sound, including some of his most enduring compositions like “Little B’s Poem.” The flipside headed resolutely into the realm of the avant-garde with four adventurous pieces composed by Chambers.


A1. Components

A2. Tranquility

A3. Little B's Poem

A4. West 22nd Street Theme

B1. Movement

B2. Juba Dance

B3. Air

B4. Pastoral